Friendsgiving and Thanksgiving Planning

 

I am so excited that Thanksgiving is less than a week away! I’ve changed my iPhone background to the photo above, thanks to iPhone backgrounds, which I’ve discovered has the best backgrounds for many holidays. I have a feeling I’m going to have a lot of backgrounds over the course of the holidays… :-)

Even closer than Thanksgiving itself, is Friendsgiving! This Sunday I’m hosting a 20+ person Friendsgiving potluck. I’m providing a whopping 23 lb turkey and endless amounts of canned cranberry sauce (the only kind worth eating!) and my roomates are dishing out mashed potatoes, a cherry almond pie, pumpkin bread, appetizers, and more roaster broccoli than we will know what to do with. All of our guests are bringing a side dish, dessert, or drinks along with them, so I know by the end of the day all of our counters and tables will be groaning under the weight of all the food. Last year we also made hand turkeys while waiting to eat, and I love seeing how creative everyone can be. Needless to say, I can’t wait to cook, eat, and spend time with people that I enjoy. After all, that’s what the holidays are about!

Last years turkey! My first turkey ever!

Hands down, the best part of Thanksgiving. 

In all of my Thanksgiving excitement, I’ve been scouring the internet/Pinterest/everywhere for great recipe ideas to keep my menu both classic and interesting. My favorite article that I found was from Martha Stewart Living, If Pinterest Planned Thankgiving Dinner. The created a full Thanksgiving menu from their most pinned holiday recipes. Two recipes really stood out to me, the Savory Autumn Leaf Pies and the Roasted Cabbage Wedges. I’ve never seen anything like them before! Maybe I’ll try them out at my family’s Thanksgiving on Thursday, I love the fresh twist they bring!

Savory Autumn Leaf Pies via Martha Stewart Living

Roasted Cabbage Wedges via Martha Stewart Living

What are you most looking forward to this Thanksgiving? 

 

Leave a Reply

