Black Eyed Pea Salad + Life Lately

Happy Weekend! I slept in until 9:30 yesterday and it felt so great! I was seriously needing some time to catch up on cleaning, groceries, laundry, and blogging, and this weekend has been perfect for that!

First, we’re going to flashback to last weekend. It was 65 and sunny so M and I took a nice long walk from our place down to the monuments and back. It was so nice to be out and about even though we were in the midst of tons of tourists the whole time. Sometimes I still can’t believe that we live in the nation’s capital! After our long walk, we took the afternoon to relax and then headed out for a belated Valentine’s celebration at Hill Country BBQ. OMG, AMAZING. (more on that later)

lincoln memorial DC

A very sunny Lincoln memorial

tidal basin DC frozen

Despite the warmth, the tidal basin was still frozen over. But come on cherry blossoms! Just a few more weeks (hopefully!)

hill country bbq barbeque

I’m hungry just from looking at this again! BBQ is treat-yo-self food for me & M and Hill Country definitely did not disappoint! Corn bread, sausage, collards, black eyed pea salad, coleslaw, pickles, sweet tea, and brisket with some white bread, I nearly had to be rolled out of there. It was by no means a healthy meal, but how could it be when you order the meat by the pound!! I was full and so happy and those delicious black eyed peas inspired me to recreate the recipe this week! (Keep reading & scrolling!)

After two gloriously warm days on the weekend, the week greeted us with not one, but TWO mornings of snow. I didn’t mind since I had to do homework or work all day and it was the picture perfect snow that looks beautiful without making a mess later. :-)
snowy courtyard new earrings

Grabbed these new beauties at F21 last weekend. I was surprised that my local store didn’t have a larger jewerly section, since there are 3 floors of clothes, but maybe that’s for the better. :-) white pizza with bacon, spinach, & chicken

We have dedicated Fridays as pizza night in our apartment, and boy am I loving it! Last week we made a tomato, basil, garlic, and mozzarella pizza. This week was another white pizza with bacon, spinach, and chicken inspired by How Sweet Eats. Mmm-hmm!! I’m looking forward to more delicious pizzas in my future!

so about those beans….

black eyed pea saladI ate this like allllllll week and it was a great thing! I put it on top of greens as a salad topper, with some chips, and even just on its own! Also, I mostly made this to taste, so I apologize for my lack of precise measurements.

Ingredients
  • 2, 16 oz cans of black eyed peas (low sodium if you can!), drained & rinsed
  • 1 cucumber, diced
  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • 1/3 red onion, diced
  • 5-7 sundried tomatoes packed in oil, chopped
  • 1/4 cup green olives, chopped
  • olive oil
  • apple cider vinegar
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions

Chop and diced everything so its approximately the same size. Add about 4-5 Tbsp of olive oil and equal parts apple cider vinegar. Mix, add salt & pepper to taste and add more oil or vinegar as needed.

This is also a great basic recipe that you can play around with and add things to your own taste. I’m thinking about adding cilantro or scallions next time!

Do you like black eyed peas? How would you eat this salad/dip? And any great pizza recipes are welcomed!!

One thought on “Black Eyed Pea Salad + Life Lately

  1. Pingback: Every-Day-Can’t-Live-Without-It Hummus Recipe |

Leave a Reply

